LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- The NBA and the National Basketball Players Association announced an agreement Tuesday evening for the eight teams that were not invited to the league's restart inside a bubble at the Walt Disney World Resort to have voluntary group workouts at their facilities beginning in mid-September.

The agreement calls for players to work out "while residing in a campus-like environment" and includes "comprehensive health and safety protocols" for all players, coaches, and team staff taking part.

That falls in line with the guidelines NBPA executive director Michele Roberts laid out to ESPN last month when she was asked what it would take to reach an agreement to allow the non-bubble teams to have some sort of offseason workouts.

Ever since the NBA came to an agreement with the NBPA to return to play in June, the fate of the eight teams that were left out of the restart -- the Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Hornets, Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Detroit Pistons, Golden State Warriors, Minnesota Timberwolves and New York Knicks -- has been a point of contention. Those teams have repeatedly advocated for the chance to work with their players sometime before the start of next season.

With this agreement, they will get that. The teams will be allowed to begin voluntary workouts with players on Sept. 14 and go through Oct. 6 in a series of phases.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

JT's Favorite Sioux Falls Skyforce


More From 600 ESPN El Paso