Residents in Montana Vista and other incorporated areas of the county will not have to suffer through another 4th of July night of traffic, trash, and terrified pets.

As El Pasoans get ready to observe the birth of American independence, county officials are warning residents that as traditional and ‘Murican as fireworks on the 4th may be, this year law abiding citizens will not be allowed to set off black cats, Roman Candles, screaming mimis, lady fingers, fuzz buttles, snicker bombs, finger blasters, nipsy daisers (with or without the scooter stick) or one single whistlin' kitty chaser in the unincorporated areas of El Paso County.

The county fireworks ban was put in place by El Paso County Judge Ricardo Samaniego on Tuesday and includes the six mile stretch of Montana Avenue in Montana Vista where tens of thousands of people traditionally gather to pop fireworks and party.

The judge used his powers to issue a Declaration of Local Disaster banning the sale and use of fireworks beginning at noon on Friday, July 3 through midnight Sunday, July 5 due to worsening drought conditions and a continuing surge in positive coronavirus cases.

Fireworks can be purchased (and popped) prior to Friday at noon, but once the restriction is in place using or possessing fireworks in the county while the declaration is in place is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.


Can I Pop in the City of El Paso and Surrounding Cities and Towns?

• Fireworks are never allowed inside El Paso city limits. If you are caught with fireworks within city limits your fireworks will be confiscated and you will be issued a citation.

• The Town of Anthony, Texas, is also not allowing the use of fireworks this Fourth, reversing an earlier decision. In a post on the town's social media page, the Anthony Police Department explained it was following Samaniego’s order.

The Town of Anthony TX passed a moratorium last month allowing the sell and purchase of fireworks in the jurisdiction of Anthony. People were allowed to ignite the fireworks on July 4 only from 7 a.m. - 11:59 p.m. However, since the County Judge issued an emergency directive that moratorium that the Town had passed becomes null and void.

• You cannot buy, possess, or shoot fireworks within the city limits of the Town of Horizon City, City of San Elizario, Clint, City of Socorro, Village of Vinton, or the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo.

More From 600 ESPN El Paso