UTEP sophomore forward Julian Washburn garnered third team All-Conference USA honors on Monday, based on a vote by league coaches and media.

Washburn was joined on the third team by Memphis junior guard Geron Johnson, Memphis senior forward/guard D.J. Stephens, Memphis sophomore forward/guard Adonis Thomas and Houston sophomore guard Joseph Young.

First team selections were Southern Miss senior forward Dwayne Davis, Tulane junior forward Josh Davis, Memphis junior guard Joe Jackson, East Carolina senior forward Maurice Kemp, UCF junior guard/forward Isaiah Sykes and Houston sophomore forward TaShawn Thomas.

Manning the second team were UCF senior forward Keith Clanton, Marshall junior guard DeAndre Kane, East Carolina senior guard Miguel Paul, UAB junior forward Rod Rucker and Tulane sophomore forward Ricky Tarrant.

A Duncanville, Texas native, Washburn leads the Miners in scoring (12.0 ppg) and minutes (34.5 mpg) while also averaging 4.3 rebounds, 1.7 assists, 0.3 blocks and 0.9 steals.  He has started all 30 games and is shooting 43.8 percent from the field and 70.1 percent from the line.  Washburn has scored in double figures a team-leading 22 times, and also tops the squad with nine games leading the team in scoring and four 20-point games.

Washburn becomes the Miners’ seventh All-Conference USA player, joining Derrick Caracter (2010 second team), Randy Culpepper (2009 third team, 2010 & 2011 first team), Stefon Jackson (2007 second team, 2008 & 2009 first team), Julyan Stone (2011 second team), John Tofi (2006 first team) and Jason Williams (2006 second team).  He is the third UTEP sophomore to be tabbed to the team after Jackson (2007) and Culpepper (2009).

The Miners will face either Houston or Rice in the C-USA Championship quarterfinals on Thursday at 1:30 p.m. MT in Tulsa.

[UTEP Athletics]