The creator of the UTEP 2-Step is hoping that the second time is the charm. Tim Hardaway, who starred at UTEP from 1985-89 was named today as one of 10 finalists to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2014. He joins a list of players that include: Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond, Kevin Johnson, and Spencer Heywood. Also named to the list of finalists are coaches Eddie Sutton, Gary Williams, women's coach Harley Reddin, and former Texas Western star Nolan Richardson. The Immaculata College women's team, which won three straight national championships was also named a finalist.

David Stern, who recently retired as NBA commissioner was elected to the Hall of Fame today along with Sarunas Marciulionis by the international committee, former Indiana Pacers coach Bob "Slick" Leonard by the ABA committee, former New York Knicks player Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton by the early African-American pioneers committee, and former Temple star Guy Rodgers by the veterans committee.

(Photo by: Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
(Photo by: Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

It's ironic that Hardaway joined Mourning and Richmond as Hall of Fame finalists. The former Miners star teamed with Mourning in Miami from 1995-2001, and both were part of the 2000 Team USA Olympic Gold Medal squad in Sydney. Hardaway and Richmond also formed two thirds of the popular "Run TMC" trio in Golden State, along with Hall of Famer Chris Mullin. This is also the first time that Richardson has been named a finalist. He is the only coach ever to win national championships in Junior College (Western Texas College), NIT (Tulsa), NCAA (Arkansas). The complete class will be announced on April 7th during the Final Four and will be enshrined on August 8th in Springfield, Massachusetts.

More From 600 ESPN El Paso