This past weekend, 23 former UTEP legendary athletes returned to El Paso to take part in the school's Centennial Weekend. Fans had the opportunity to meet these UTEP football, and basketball legends. They included Trey Darilek, Eugene Epps, Pat Hegarty, Johnnie Lee Higgins Jr., Chris Jacke, Howard Jackson, Cedric Johnson, Don Maynard, Lee Mays, Brian Natkin, Jordan Palmer, Billy Stevens, Tony Tolbert, Bob Wallace and Barron Wortham; men's basketball's David Lattin and Nolan Richardson; and women's basketball's Gloria Estrada, Jareica Hughes, Holly Russ, Be Stoney, Kiana Taylor and Timika Williams. All are members of the UTEP Centennial teams for their respective sports, as voted on by the fans.

Mando "The Monster" Medina and I both had the privilege to attend a Media Day and interview eight of these Miner greats before the festivities started at the campus. It was a thrill to see Hall of Famers David Lattin, Nolan Richardson, and Don Maynard, and members of the 1988 Independence Bowl Team.