Over his 36 years of broadcasting, Jon Teicher has been the longtime voice of UTEP sports, along with El Paso Diablos baseball, and a five year stint as host of Sportstalk. Now, he can add a career achievement award from the National Football Foundation to his list of accomplishments. Teicher will receive the Chris Schenkel Award, which recognizes individuals who have had long, distinguished careers broadcasting college football with direct ties to a specific university. He will be presented the award on Tuesday night, December 5th during the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown.

"This was a complete surprise," Teicher told 600 ESPN El Paso. "It's unbelievably humbling and I'm only the 22nd individual to receive the award. To be honest, what I'm proud of is that it shines some light on an unbelievable institution in UTEP and El Paso, which I think is great. Most of the names on that list are from Power 5 schools and to be included with them is remarkable."

Lewis Woodyard.
Lewis Woodyard.

Teicher joins a list of college football's legendary announcers, including Schenkel, Jack Cristil (Mississippi State), Max Falkenstein (Kansas), Jack Fleming (West Virginia), Ray Christensen (Minnesota), Tony Roberts (Notre Dame), Larry Munson (Georgia), and Gene Deckerhoff (Florida State).

"Jon Teicher has had an exceptional broadcasting career as the Voice of the Miners, spanning more than 36 years, and during that time, his voice has become synonymous with UTEP football and west Texas," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell in the official news release. "We are pleased to honor him with the 2017 NFF Chris Schenkel Award in recognition of his distinguished career."

This year's College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern), Mike Ruth (Boston College), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico) and coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina).

More From 600 ESPN El Paso