The U.S. Open will be hosted by Pebble Beach Golf Links this week.  With thousands upon thousands of viewers and maybe some watching in bars- and with the bar trivia at it's height- we thought we would give you some facts to share with your fellow golf enthusiasts.

Because everyone loves the person who drops random facts about the sporting event they are watching.


  • Pebble Beach Golf Links is located in Pebble Beach, California
  • The U.S. Open was established in 1895
  • It is annually scheduled for the third weekend in June, with final day of play on Father's Day
  • The par for the 2019 Open is 71
  • The tournament record to par is -16 and is shared by Rory McIlroy (2011) and Brooks Koepka (2017)
  • Brooks Koepka is the defending champion
  • The winner will receive $12.5M


  • The first U.S. Open Champion was Horace Rawlings, a 21 year old Englishman, in 1895
  • The oldest U.S. Open Champion was Hale Irwin (1990) at age 45
  • The youngest U.S. Open Champion was John McDermott (1911) at age 19
  • Brooks Koepka is a two time defending champion.  Only one person has had three consecutive U.S. Open wins. That man is Willie Anderson 1903-1905
  • The most U.S. Open victories is shared by four men: Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus
  • Up to 2017, if a tie existed at the end of play on Sunday, the U.S. Open retained a full 18 hole playoff on Monday. Now it is a two hole playoff.


  • This will be the 6th time Pebble Beach will host the U.S. Open.  Early gigs include 1972, 1982, 1992, 2000, 2010.  They are scheduled to host again in 2027
  • Pebble Beach has also hosted the PGA Championship (1977), the AT&T Pebble Beach (1947-present) and Nature Valley First Tee Open (2004-present)
  • In 2001, Pebble Beach was the first public golf course to be selected as the #1 golf course in America by Golf Digest
  • The course has many signature holes, including the par 3 7th- one of the most photographed holes in the world.


Dustin Johnson 7-1
Brooks Koepka 8-1
Tiger Woods 10-1
Rory McIlroy 10-1
Jordan Spieth 14-1
Patrick Cantlay 16-1
Justin Rose 20-1
Rickie Fowler 20-1
Justin Thomas 25-1
Jon Rahm 25-1
Jason Day 25-1
Xander Schauffele 25-1
Adam Scott 30-1
Tommy Fleetwood 30-1
Phil Mickelson 30-1
Francesco Molinari 35-1
Tony Finau 35-1
Hideki Matsuyama 40-1
Matt Kuchar 40-1
Bryson DeChambeau 50-1
Paul Casey 50-1
Webb Simpson 50-1
Brandt Snedeker 50-1
Henrik Stenson 60-1
Marc Leishman 60-1
Martin Kaymer 60-1
Gary Woodland 80-1
Patrick Reed 80-1
Shane Lowry 80-1
Sergio Garcia 100-1
Louis Oosthuizen 100-1
Matt Wallace 100-1
Kevin Kisner 100-1
Graeme McDowell 100-1

More From 600 ESPN El Paso