We have seen a string of professional athletes, coaches, and officials make the decision to not participate in their sport this season due to the coronavirus. Health, age, a concern for family and other personal reasons all contributing to their decisions. Now the NFL under the amended collective bargaining agreement with NFL Players Association has a deadline of 3:00 PM CT today for players to notify their respective clubs whether or not they will play or sit out this season.

According to the NFL, among the players who are opting out:

    • Baltimore Ravens: KR De'Anthony Thomas, OL Andre Smith
    • Buffalo Bills: DT Star Lotulelei, CB E.J. Gaines
    • Dallas Cowboys: CB Maurice Canady, WR Stephen Guidry
    • Green Bay Packers: WR Devin Funchess
    • Houston Texans: DT Eddie Vanderdoes
    • Jacksonville Jaguars: EDGE Lerentee McCray
    • Kansas City Chiefs: OL Laurent Duvernay-Tardif
    • Miami Dolphins: WR Allen Hurns, WR Albert Wilson
    • New England Patriots: LB Donta Hightower, FB Dan Vitale, RB Brandon Bolden, OL Najee Toran, WR Marqise Lee
    • New York Giants: CB Sam Beal
    • Philadelphia Eagles: WR Marquise Goodwin
    • San Francisco 49ers: WR Travis Benjamin
    • Seattle Seahawks: OL Chance Warmack
    • Tennessee Titans: OL Anthony McKinney

There are also a handful of high-risk opt-outs including Minnesota Vikings DT Michael Pierce.

600 ESPN El Paso logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Super Bowl Photos


More From 600 ESPN El Paso