SAN ANTONIO (AP) — Maryland coach Brenda Frese is The Associated Press women’s basketball coach of the year for the second time in her career. Maryland lost five starters from last year’s Big Ten championship, but didn’t miss a beat. It won the conference for the sixth time in seven years. The Terrapins lost in the Sweet 16 to Texas. Frese received eight votes from the 30-member national media panel that votes on the weekly Top 25. Stanford coach Tara VanDerveer and North Carolina State coach Wes Moore each received seven votes. Frese also won in 2002 when she was coaching Minnesota.

More From 600 ESPN El Paso