Over the holiday weekend TV Azteca’s David Medrano announced on his twitter account that FC Juarez home matches will be broadcast via TV Azteca for the 2020 Apertura season. The season is scheduled to kickoff July 24th amid the COVID-19 pandemic. With that change, the Bravos will also now play their home games on Friday nights as part of TV Azteca’s Friday night prime time double header of Mexican soccer.

FC Juarez will be a one of a handful of teams whose home matches will be broadcast on more than one television network as Televisa will pick up and broadcast “some” of their home matches over the season in addition to TV Azteca.

No word has been given as to which matches will be broadcast by both television networks. Also no details of the new contract have been announced by the Bravos front office; it is unknown up to this point for how many seasons/years this new contract with TV Azteca is for.

Leaving Televisa is a positive step for the Bravos in what will be their third season in Mexico’s first division. Being under the flagship of Televisa means you’re willing to accept your spot in a totem pole in which Club America reigns supreme because they are owned by Televisa. The bias, and blatant favoritism is ever so evident in their broadcasts and their on-air talent’s commentary. Needless to say, it’s easy for fans from other teams take notice of this and get tired of it rather quickly. That was the sentiment from FC Juarez fans in the two years that Televisa broadcast their matches.

TV Azteca will give the team from the Borderland broadcasts that fans will enjoy because TV Azteca typically treats the teams they broadcast equally, respectfully and as their own.

The official schedule for the 2020 Apertura season is set to be announced sometime this week.

Below is a list of which television networks have the rights to which teams for the upcoming season:
Televisa: America, Cruz Azul, Toluca, Pumas, Tigres, FC Juarez (some matches), Atlas (some matches), Necaxa (some matches).
TV Azteca: FC Juarez, Atlas, Necaxa, Mazatlan FC, and Puebla.
FOX Sports: Monterrey, Santos, Tijuana, Pachuca, Leon, Queretaro
Chivas will be broadcast by both Televisa and TV Azteca.

More From 600 ESPN El Paso