A pair of UTEP golfers earned All-Conference honors on Thursday, announced by the league office.

On the women's squad, Valeria Mendizabal took home First Team C-USA honors, while Oskar Ambrosius was recognized on the Second Team men's conference team.

Mendizabal is just one of five players to make the all-conference first team. The junior golfer was top in the league after putting together a career-best 71.6 stroke average in 20 rounds and came in first twice last year. She is one of the best players throughout the conference and the first Miner to receive a first-team honor in five years.

Ambrosius continued UTEP's seven-year streak of having a player named to the all-conference team. Last year, he posted a team-high 72.0 stroke average in 21 rounds. He was the top performer among the Miners in four of seven events played and finished top-10 in four events. He ended the short spring season No. 14 in C-USA according to Golfstat.

Here's the full list of All-C-USA recipients.


 All-Conference USA First Team (5)

Ashley Fowler, Charlotte

Siarra Stout, Charlotte

Lauren Cox, North Texas

Jana Melichova, Old Dominion

Valeria Mendizabal, UTEP

All-Conference USA Second Team (5)

Cecilie Finne-Ipsen, Charlotte

Justine Fournand, Florida Atlantic

Audrey Tan, North Texas

Leah Onosato, Old Dominion

Tia Teiniketo, UAB

All-Conference USA Third Team (6)

Jillian Farrell, Charlotte

Ellinor Sudow, Charlotte

Sophie Burks, Middle Tennessee

Patricia Sinolungan, North Texas

Friend Chompitakdacha, Southern Miss

Ana Gonzalez, UTSA

Women’s Golfer of the Year

Ashley Fowler, Charlotte

Freshman of the Year

Justine Fournand, Florida Atlantic

Most Improved Golfer of the Year

Tia Teiniketo, UAB

Coach of the Year

Holly Clark, Charlotte


All-Conference USA First Team

John Gough, Charlotte

Mac Murphy, Louisiana Tech

Jake Benson, Rice

William Walker III, UAB

Murray Naysmith, UAB

All-Conference USA Second Team

Marc Boucher, Charlotte

Tanner Owens, Middle Tennessee

Gustav Fransson, Old Dominion

Oskar Ambrosius, UTEP

Linus Lo, WKU

All-Conference USA Third Team

Alex Maguire, Florida Atlantic

Viktor Forslund, North Texas

Ben Reichert, UAB

Khavish Varadan, UAB

Christian Fanfelle, UTSA

Conference USA All-Freshman Team

Dongjin Park, Charlotte

Alex Maguire, Florida Atlantic

Robbie Latter, Southern Miss

Thongpipat Rattanayanon, Southern Miss

Khavish Varadan, UAB

C-USA Player of the Year

John Gough, Charlotte

C-USA Freshman of the Year

Khavish Varadan, UAB

C-USA Coach of the Year

Mike Wilson, UAB



More From 600 ESPN El Paso