Earlier today, representatives from the Sun Bowl Association and WestStar Bank announced the field for the 51st edition of the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational.

Nebraska, Central Michigan, and Arkansas-Pine Bluff will join UTEP on Dec. 22-23 at the Haskins Center.

In addition,  WestStar Bank has signed on to a five-year contract extension as sponsor of the nation’s oldest collegiate holiday basketball tournament that secures the event until 2016.

The WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational most valuable award has been renamed the Barry Kobren Most Valuable Player Trophy in honor of the 25-year volunteer and Basketball Committee Chairman.  Barry is a friend of 600 ESPN El Paso, and has hosted SportsTalk in the past.

UTEP and Arkansas-Pine Bluff will open the tournament with a 7 p.m. tip-off on Saturday, Dec. 22, to be followed by Nebraska and Central Michigan at 9 p.m.  The championship is slated for a 7 p.m. start on Sunday, Dec. 23, following the 5 p.m. consolation game.

Beginning Dec. 1, tournament tickets will be available at the Sun Bowl Association office at (915-533-4416 or 800-915-BOWL), the UTEP Ticket Center (915-747-5234) and TicketMaster outlets. Tournament tickets can be reserved now by calling the Sun Bowl Association office.  Tournament tickets are also included in UTEP season ticket packages.


More From 600 ESPN El Paso