Alabama running back Derrick Henry took home the 2015 Heisman Trophy after a season that saw him re-write the SEC record books. The 6-foot-3, 242-pound junior broke Herschel Walker’s conference record for rushing yards with 1,986 this season. He is also tied with Auburn’s Tre Mason and Tim Tebow of Florida for the SEC record for rushing touchdowns (23).

It’s hard to argue against Henry’s numbers this year: he leads the nation in carries, rushing yards, rushing touchdowns and yards after contact. He is the first Power 5 conference player to win the Heisman after leading in those categories.

Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey finished second in the voting, making it the fourth time in seven years that a Cardinal player has finished as the runner-up in the Heisman race. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson finished third.

Last Thursday, Henry became the first running back to win the Maxwell Award since 2002. He is the first running back since Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999 to win both the Maxwell and the Heisman in the same year.

2015 Heisman Trophy Voting

1. Derrick Henry, Alabama3781,832
2. Christian McCaffrey, Stanford2901,539
3. Deshaun Watson, Clemson1481,165
4. Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma34334
5. Keenan Reynolds, Navy20180
6. Leonard Fournette, LSU10110
7. Dalvin Cook, Florida State779
8. Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State557
9(T). Connor Cook, Michigan State213
9(T). Trevone Boykin, TCU113

More From 600 ESPN El Paso