Last night, the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2017, which includes two-time Super Bowl champion Billy Davis. In addition to Davis, seven others were given the ultimate honor in the living athlete, coach/administrator, referee/trainer, media/athletics supporter, and posthumous categories. The dinner and induction banquet will be held on Wednesday, May 3rd at Sunland Park Racetrack and Casino. Tickets are $30 each and are available by contacting Gary Crossland at 915-779-3495. Here are the profiles of each new member of the EPAHOF.

Living Athlete

Rita Aguilar - a 5-time El Paso women's amateur golf champion who excelled as both a player and coach.

Billy Davis - former Irvin standout who starred at Pitt and later won two Super Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys and Baltimore Ravens.

Kaysie Smashie - former Franklin High state champion who went on to play at University of Texas and a long professional career. Smashey recently competed in World Team championships.


Ben Avalos - coached wrestling for many years at Eastwood and his boys won several state titles.

Anthony Carter - like Avalos, Carter is one of the best high school wrestling coaches El Paso has ever seen. Carter has coached three straight girls state championship teams at Hanks.


Ronnie Hernandez - for more than four decades, Hernandez has been officiating basketball and football both at the collegiate and at the high school level.


Ray Adauto - has spent the last 30+ years in local media and is best known as the longtime public address announcer of UTEP sports. Uncle Ray is currently the PA voice of the El Paso Chihuahuas.


Wally Hartley - won more than 20 district titles over his long and distinguished coaching career at Ross Middle School.

More From 600 ESPN El Paso