Here’s The NFL Explanation Of Why Dez Bryant Didn’t Catch The Ball
For the second straight week in a row a Dallas Cowboys playoff game ended with a controversial call by the referees. Yesterday In the 4th quarter in the game between the Cowboys and the Green Bay Packers, Dez Bryant made an incredible catch that would have put the Cowboys on the 1 yard line. It was ruled a catch then after the booth review, they ruled that he didn't have control. And because of this reversal, many people feel that this is why the Cowboys lost the game.
Here's the NFL's explanation:
If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
By the way, this is called the Calvin Johnson rule, which is an outdated and completely idiotic interpretation of what constitutes a catch.