David Nalbandian Disqualified from Tennis Tournament After Kicking a Linesman
Tennis player David Nalbandian is attempting to find the form that vaulted him to number three in the world in 2006. Nalbandian, however, has always battled a salty temper. Over the weekend, he cost himself nearly $75,000 and a title after kicking an advertising board that left a linesman bloody.
Up a set against Marin Cilic in the finals of the AEGON Championships in London, Nalbandian kicked an advertising board after losing a service game to Cilic. The kick sent the board straight into the line judge’s shins and left him bleeding through his khakis. After checking on the injured official, the chair umpire disqualified Nalbandian to end the match.
Subscribe to 600 ESPN El Paso on
According to multiple reports, someone filed an assault charge against Nalbandian, and Scotland Yard is investigating the charges.